Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Countering Morphs



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
andrew7913



Joined: 12 Jun 2005
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:35 pm    Post subject: Countering Morphs Reply with quote

how do u counter a morph? when they pay 3 and put it face down? or when they flip the card?
Back to top
Y2Jonline



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The card can be countered only as it's being played face-down. Flipping a creature up is not casting the creature, it is flipping up a creature that is already in play and thus can't be countered.
Back to top
Y2Jonline



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stifle can't counter a creature unmorphing. If the creature has an ability that triggers when it's unmorphed, it can counter the ABILITY, but not the unmorph itself.
Back to top
niknight



Joined: 14 Oct 2004
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the only time you can counter the creature is as they play it face down.

turning a creature face up is a special action. it cannot be countered by cards like stifle.

Also, morph itself is a static ability, which means no pithing needles/faith's fetters.
Back to top
kfcman



Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 733

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

niknight wrote:
the only time you can counter the creature is as they play it face down.

turning a creature face up is a special action. it cannot be countered by cards like stifle.

Also, morph itself is a static ability, which means no pithing needles/faith's fetters.

ok so if u fetter a morph i can still flip it
but when it flips is fetters still on it?
Back to top
Ronnan
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes
Back to top
Haro
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 01 Sep 2004
Posts: 265

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GnikXela wrote:
Lets put it this way. The flipping ability doesn't use the stack.


There, fixed it for you.

Morphing = playing it facedown for 3 mana, which can be countered, responded to and is countered by counterbalance by a land.

Flipping = turning the card right side up, revealing the card. This ACT cannot be responded to, stifled, countered or whatever.
The 'proper' way to flip a card face up is reveal the card to everyone, thus revealing the cost, THEN pay the cost of it THEN you turn the card face up.
(this is important vs city of brass or something.)
Back to top
aldaryn



Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 501

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have another important question about countering morphs I figure I'll just add here instead of starting a new thread.

I know a face-down morph has cmc 0. But when you play the spell of the face-down morph, and pay 3, is its cmc on the stack 0 or 3?
Back to top
ynnus



Joined: 26 Dec 2006
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i believe on the stack its still 0 mana.
Back to top
darksigma



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its still 0 mana.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy