Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Regeneration and Angelic Overseer vs DoJ



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Kabelis



Joined: 27 Jun 2010
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what the keyword for regeneration means:
"Regenerate

Regenerate describes a replacement effect for destruction, is generally written as "Cost: Regenerate (this permanent)", and is an ability only held by permanents. When the ability is activated, a "regeneration shield" is set up on the permanent. The next time that permanent would be destroyed, instead (if applicable) all damage is removed from it, it is removed from combat, it is tapped, and a regeneration shield is removed from it. Otherwise, the regeneration shield remains until the end of the turn. This ability is generally found on creatures, though any permanent can be regenerated."

Basically if you let DoJ resolve, the creatures die during the resolution of DoJ. Because of that you don't have an opportunity to activate any abilities anymore. In order for your creature to survive DoJ, you have to give it regeneration shield before DoJ resolves.

So if you cast DoJ and let it resolve, your angelic overseer will survive. If you want to save FoS instead you would have to sacrifice a human before DoJ resolves which would then make it so your Overseer dies.
So in this case, if you only control 1 human, you can't save both your Angelic Overseer and FoS.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy