Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Thoughtseize



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Bande



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:25 pm    Post subject: Thoughtseize Reply with quote

If you play thoughtseize and see only land or choose not to have opponent to discard do you still lose 2 life?
Back to top
Steveman



Joined: 13 Apr 2007
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have to choose a card to discard (assuming there's a legal card to choose) and you will always lose the 2 life.
Back to top
Bande



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But if no legal card do Ilose 2 life?
Back to top
Strid3r



Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you lose 2 life.
Back to top
Bande



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.
Back to top
Livermush



Joined: 05 Aug 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To clarify, you pay the 2 life as you pay for the spell. So first you declare the target, then you pay the costs (including life)
Back to top
StarWolf



Joined: 28 Jul 2011
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Livermush wrote:
To clarify, you pay the 2 life as you pay for the spell. So first you declare the target, then you pay the costs (including life)


This isn't true, or else it would say, "as an additional cost to play thoughtseize, pay 2 life". You lose 2 life on resolution.
Back to top
Livermush



Joined: 05 Aug 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StarWolf wrote:
Livermush wrote:
To clarify, you pay the 2 life as you pay for the spell. So first you declare the target, then you pay the costs (including life)


This isn't true, or else it would say, "as an additional cost to play thoughtseize, pay 2 life". You lose 2 life on resolution.


You're right. Haven't seen that card in a while.

Quote:
Target player reveals his or her hand. You choose a nonland card from it. That player discards that card. You lose 2 life.
Back to top
pseudodespot



Joined: 08 May 2011
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When a spell resolves. It does everything it can do. You are not able to pick a card that qualifies to be discarded, but you have always life that you can lose. Otherwise the spell wouldn't be resolving because you lost the game right before that for having zero or less life.
Back to top
xHourglass



Joined: 25 Jan 2012
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^this
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy