Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mutilate vs Undying



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
GunsAndDope



Joined: 12 Jul 2011
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:30 am    Post subject: Mutilate vs Undying Reply with quote

If I understand Gatherer correctly, Mutilate's ability only affects the creatures in play when it resolves.

Quote:
The effect is based on the number of Swamps you control when Mutilate resolves. Only creatures on the battlefield at that time will be affected. The effect won't change later in the turn, even if the number of Swamps you control changes.


So a creature with undying that is mutilated will return to play and not die again, right?
Back to top
R0B



Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Correct.
Back to top
Rockets



Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're correct.

Quote:
Player A has 4 Swamps in play, Player B has a Hound of Griselbrand with no +1/+1 counters on it. Player A casts Mutilate giving all creatures -4/-4 until end of turn. Mutilate resolves, Hound of Griselbrand dies, Undying triggers. Undying resolves, returning Hound to play with a +1/+1 counter.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy