Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Spelltwine



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:32 pm    Post subject: Spelltwine Reply with quote

Player 1 controls a Wind Drake and has a Switcheroo in his graveyard.

Player 2 controls a Royal Assassin and has a Lightning Bolt in his graveyard.


Player 1 casts Spelltwine targeting his Switcheroo and Player 2's Lightning bolt. He proceeds to use the switcheroo to target the Wind Drake and Royal Assassin, and then uses the Lightning Bolt to target the Wind Drake.

What does the final board position look like?
Back to top
LuckyDucky



Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have royal assassin and wind drake is DEAD
Back to top
Jacois



Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 1201

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

COMBO!
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the situation described, Player 2 will control the Royal Assassin and the Wind Drake will be in the graveyard. The Switcheroo being cast first means the Lightning Bolt will resolve first, so when the Switcheroo resolves, there's only one target left. As such, no exchange can occur.

If, instead, the Lightning Bolt were cast first, then the Switcheroo would resolve first, exchanging control of the creatures, then the lightning bolt would resolve, killing the Wind Drake and Player 1 would end up with control of the Royal Assassin.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy