Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Geist of Saint Traft



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
chakal-PT



Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 8:01 am    Post subject: Geist of Saint Traft Reply with quote

Hi,

Can someone please help me with this question?

If I have a Geist of Saint Traft, attack with it creating an 4/4 Angel Token, its possible to use a Phantasmal Image on the Token without having to sacrifice it at end of turn?

In my opinion, since Geist of Saint Traft says to exile "that" token (that specific token that he created), instead of "create a 4/4 token with - Exile this token at end of turn", I think it's a legal play and I can keep the copy of the Angel...

Anyway, as everyone knows, there are that net players that love to make their own rules and said that I must exile both if I made that play... And since I'm not 100% sure, and I don't like to make up rules, I would like if someone could help me with this, and explain why, in case I'm wrong!

Thanks for help,

cHaKaL-PT
Back to top
Rockets



Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The token is exiled at the end of combat, not at end of turn. But if you were to flash in the Image or use it's ability on the token in another way, it would not be sacrificed.
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The token is sacrificed by the same trigger which created it, it is not an ability linked to the token. If you were able to flash in Phantasmal Image during combat to copy it, it would NOT have the same requirement to be sac'd at end of combat.
Back to top
Strid3r



Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So you are right to put it simple Laughing
Back to top
chakal-PT



Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

strid3r wrote:
So you are right to put it simple Laughing


lol

I was right, but wrong... eheh It's still an illegal play!
I didn't read the Geist of Saint Traft ability correctly, and that was the problem...

Anyway, thanks for your help guys!!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy