Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

2HG and Ghostly Prison



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:16 am    Post subject: 2HG and Ghostly Prison Reply with quote

How Ghostly Prison work into a 2hg game?

if i attack the head without Ghostly Prison, must i pay 2?

and what if he has Teferi's Moat?
Back to top
LuckyDucky



Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For ghostly prison, you can't attack the player with it (unless you pay 2 per creature), but you can attack the player without it, even without paying 2 per creature.
Back to top
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah ha hummm may be, but i waiting for a judge answer
Back to top
LuckyDucky



Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tritemio wrote:
ah ha hummm may be, but i waiting for a judge answer


Good choice... did a little research...

Quote:
Q: Can my opponents just attack my teammate to get around my Ghostly Prison?

A: No. A restriction preventing attacking either player also applies to attacking the team. Note also that you attack the defending team, not an individual player. It's only when you get to the Combat Damage Step, where unblocked attacking creatures assign their damage to one of the two players.


http://www.wizards.com/Magic/Magazine/Article.aspx?x=judge/article/20050907b

Quote:
810.7c As the declare attackers step begins, the active team declares attackers. If an effect of an object controlled by a defending player prohibits a creature from attacking him or her, that creature can't attack the defending team. The active team has one combined attack, and that set of attacking creatures must be legal as a whole. See rule 508.1.
Example: One player in a Two-Headed Giant game controls Teferi's Moat, which says "As Teferi's Moat enters the battlefield, choose a color." and "Creatures of the chosen color without flying can't attack you." Creatures of the chosen color without flying can't attack that player's team.

810.7f As the combat damage step begins, the active team announces how each attacking creature will assign its combat damage. If an attacking creature would assign combat damage to the defending team, the active team chooses only one of the defending players for that creature to assign its combat damage to. Then the defending team announces how each blocking creature will assign its combat damage. See rule 510.1.


The reason I gave the answer I did is because usually when a card says you, it only applies to you and not your team. It looks to me that here, the rules override the card. You attack the team, not individual players, and so you are attacking the player with the prison.
Back to top
blitzer2k7



Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the ruling itself makes sense if you think about it. its called two headed giant for a reason. its two heads and one body.
Back to top
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

magicman85 wrote:
The trick is to attack the head and not the body.


is a joke?

An other question

What happend if i play Time Warp? i play an extra turn, and my teammate?
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tritemio wrote:
magicman85 wrote:
The trick is to attack the head and not the body.


is a joke?

An other question

What happend if i play Time Warp? i play an extra turn, and my teammate?



805.8. If an effect gives a player an extra turn or adds a phase or step to that player's turn, that player's team takes the extra turn, phase, or step. If an effect causes a player to skip a step, phase, or turn, that player's team does so. If a single effect causes more than one player on the same team to add or skip the same step, phase, or turn, that team adds or skips only that step, phase, or turn. If an effect causes a player to control another player, the controller of that effect controls the affected player's team.
Back to top
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
805.8. If an effect gives a player an extra turn or adds a phase or step to that player's turn, that player's team takes the extra turn, phase, or step. If an effect causes a player to skip a step, phase, or turn, that player's team does so. If a single effect causes more than one player on the same team to add or skip the same step, phase, or turn, that team adds or skips only that step, phase, or turn. If an effect causes a player to control another player, the controller of that effect controls the affected player's team.


Good , so if i play Fatigue both head skip the draw?

is the same with Plagiarize?
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2012 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tritemio wrote:
Good , so if i play Fatigue both head skip the draw?


Fatigue causes the player to skip a step, so the entire team skips that step.


Quote:

is the same with Plagiarize?


Plagiarize doesn't cause a phase or step to be skipped. It replaces the player drawing cards. This only affects the targeted player, not his/her teammate.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy