Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question on Shallow Grave and sacrificing



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shallow Grave {1B} |Instant| Return the top creature card of your graveyard to the battlefield. That creature gains haste until end of turn. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step.

---

At the end of turn, Shallow Grave's dealyed triggered ability ["At the beginning of the next end step, exile it"] will go on the stack. When it resolves, it will exile the creature if it is still on the battlefield.

Otherwise, the ablity does nothing. It does not replace cards going to the Graveyard. It does not stop Doomgape triggers. It does not exile cards in the graveyard.

It either exiles a the creature still on the battlefield or nothing.
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Unearth mechanic would have removed it from the game, because it has an important extra sentence of rules baggage.

Maybe your friend just thought the same would happen with Shallow Grave. Aways read the card! Smile

Quote:
702.82a Unearth is an activated ability that functions while the card with unearth is in a graveyard. “Unearth [cost]” means “[Cost]: Return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step. If it would leave the battlefield, exile it instead of putting it anywhere else. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy