Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

stifle x Emrakul, the Aeons Torn



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You want to prevent him from being shuffled back in right? Yes, you can Stifle that.
Back to top
niknight



Joined: 14 Oct 2004
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

While it's true that Emrakul has protection from colored spells, the trick here is that you are not targeting Emrakul. You are, in fact, targeting a triggered ability that was generated from Emrakul. This is perfectly legal to Stifle.
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should be pointed out that Emrakul doesn't have protection from colored spells unless he is on the battlefield. For instance, you could target him with Extirpate in response to the shuffle-back-in trigger as well.
Back to top
Boba383



Joined: 26 Sep 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't the shuffle ability a replacement effect? If I remember, that would mean it never would hit the graveyard, so wouldn't Extirpate not work?

*edit* never mind, I think I see the difference between Emrakul and an ability like Darksteel Colossus.
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, cards that have the word "instead" are replacement effects.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Emrakul has a triggered ability. That triggered ability is a normal triggered ability that uses the stack. You can Stifle it, you can Extirpate it in response, you can use Relic of Progenitus in response, etc.
Back to top
Boba383



Joined: 26 Sep 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah that was my bad, hence the later edit. Didn't realize it wasn't a replacement effect like Darksteel Colossus's was.

So yeah, you'd be able to use an instant in response to Emrakul's shuffle ability, but Darksteel Colossus would be shuffled into the library before you would have a chance to Extirpate him.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy