Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New Infinite Mana Combo in T2!!!


Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Other - Non-Magic
Author Message
MaximilianoX



Joined: 31 May 2005
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:34 pm    Post subject: New Infinite Mana Combo in T2!!! Reply with quote

My friend and i were looking the the guildpact spolier and found this:

Djinn Illuminatus 5(R/U)(R/U)

Flying
Each instant and sorcery spell you play has replicate. The replicate cost is equal to its mana cost. (When you play it, copy it for each time you paid its replicate cost. You may choose new targets for the copies.)

Think about it with:

SEETHING SONG

1) Add 3 mana play seething song
2) Add 3 mana play copy of seething song
3) Let the copy resolve
4) Interrupt the stack
5) Add another copy
6) Repeat steps 1-5

Infinite Mana!!!

With Gifts Ungiven, Vigor Mortis, and possibly Blaze a new deck can be born!

There was some speculation but replicate copies stack on top of each other!!!

Feel free post your thoughts

I'm so excited!

Sincerely, Affinity2412


Last edited by MaximilianoX on Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
C-Board



Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

too bad that it dosent work, because you need to pay the cost as you play it, so by the time the first seething song resolves, youcannot replicate it.
Back to top
theTJtrooper



Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I'm so excited!


Crash and burn. You're bubble just got popped Confused
Back to top
ant900



Joined: 11 Oct 2004
Posts: 2525
Location: somewhere

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and even if you did have extra mana replicate is paid as the spell is played so you could only do it how much mana you have at the time
Back to top
MaximilianoX



Joined: 31 May 2005
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no listen
u have to take advantage of being able to interrupt the stack
let the copy resolve whlie the original one stays on the stack waiting to be replicated again

oh by the way kfcman1084

next time u come over im bringing over michelle too

CARTMAN


Last edited by MaximilianoX on Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
theTJtrooper



Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You CANNOT replicate on the stack, only when you play the spell
Back to top
C-Board



Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and once again you cant do that because you can only opay the replicate costs as the spell is being payed, the copys do not have replicate, its the same thing with storm
Back to top
Metzel



Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Location: Bob Marley

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok replicat works like this. You play the spell then pay the replicate as many as you wish. Then all copies resolve at once. They do not resolve indivdually. Sorry to spoil your fun but if you do not believe me then just go to mtg.com and find out for yourself.
Back to top
theTJtrooper



Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Replicate (When you play this spell, copy it for each time you paid its replicate cost. You may choose new targets for the copies.)


You calling me a dumbass? Read the freaking text.
Back to top
MaximilianoX



Joined: 31 May 2005
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guys i really dont want this forum to get locked

my main questions are:

1. Do copies have the replicate ability as well as the original?

2. Are copies played or do they just go off?

because if copies have the replicate ability as well as the original they can replicate each other.
Back to top
VacancyMan



Joined: 01 May 2005
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 7:28 pm    Post subject: Go Ahead. Make My Day. Reply with quote

I just hope that someone plays me in a master with this deck so I can go "#judges4you" and get a first round bye.
Back to top
Craze



Joined: 30 Jan 2005
Posts: 5676
Location: Indiana, U

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow this is pathetic....
GROW UP ALL OF YOU

And god knows when I think your flaming is pathetic, you've got a god damn problem.

Anthony Alongi wrote:
Each copy exists independent of each other, and the original spell. After you announce the replication and pay all costs, all those copies go on the stack. (You choose what order. Remember – last in, first out!) Before any of them resolve, and after each one resolves, people may have instants or abilities. If one of those instants or abilities removes the target of the original spell from play…well, the copies can still resolve normally, if they target different things.

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=mtgcom/daily/aa210


whats that mean? Well pretty much this, and lets quote a little...
Quote:
Each instant and sorcery spell you play has replicate. The replicate cost is equal to its mana cost. (When you play it, copy it for each time you paid its replicate cost. You may choose new targets for the copies.)


if you still don't get it, i'll try helping you...

You play seething song, and replicate it once(6 mana). that copy goes on stack WITH THE SEETHING SONG. You can replicate the copy BUT it will ALSO GO ON STACK WITH THE ORIGINAL SEETHING SONG. all of them resolve at the same time. Thus is why your combo doesn't work.

Think of a replicate cost as an X on the cc, except the X makes a new spell.

Now quit your childish flaming and STFU.
Back to top
COOLBOY



Joined: 03 Jul 2005
Posts: 399

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He's saying you cant activate the replicate ability from the copies because they arent being played. Even if the origianl is on the stack it is a triggered ability that cant be reactivated after its on the stack.
Back to top
MaximilianoX



Joined: 31 May 2005
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Paskins_Appr wrote:
Quote:
kfcman1084


shut the **** up american dirtbag.
the guy who made the thread is an ****, but dont say shit about brazil.

ill laught my ass out next time something explodes in your country.

hail the arabian leaders, hail chavez!


Paskins_Appr don't worry. Kfcman1084 and I are good friends in the same city and we play magic all the time. He jokes around all the time about how I'm brazilian and I joke around and say that he's fat. It's not a big deal.
Back to top
MaximilianoX



Joined: 31 May 2005
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok this is getting out of hand. All i wanted was to share a deck idea and its turning into a flame war about something that it really shouldn't have. If you really want to discuss this topic please do it in a different thread.

I would really like someone to lock this thread that I made to keep this from continuing.

Thank You,
Affinity2412
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Other - Non-Magic All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 1 of 6

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy