Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can I broke Necrotic ooze with civilized scholar?



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Lozober



Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you are going to do everything except transform.
Back to top
cloysterd



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ooze only has one side so it can't transform, but it will untap.

Note that you can do the same thing with any Clone-type card copying the blue side of Civilized Scholar, since one-sided copies can't transform either.
Back to top
LordHawk



Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

701.25a. Only permanents represented by double-faced cards can transform. (See rule 711, "Double-Faced Cards.") If a spell or ability instructs a player to transform any permanent that isn't represented by a double-faced card, nothing happens.
-

711.1. A double-faced card has a Magic card face on each side rather than a Magic card face on one side and a Magic card back on the other. Each face may have abilities that allow the permanent to "transform," or turn over to its other face. Tokens and cards with a Magic card back can't transform.
Back to top
xJudicatorx



Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is a pretty good idea, nice thinking.
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is a nice idea. Infinite untap triggers and creatures in graveyard... Maybe Ooze + Scholar combo until you get a real combo in the graveyard. What creature combos are there in Standard?
Back to top
Lozober



Joined: 26 Feb 2010
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ooze+Scholar+dredge Creature is an infinite mill to get a real combo in the grave and win the game actually....
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy