Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Destroy vs Tap Attacker



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
J_R



Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you tap something that is already attacking, it doesnt remove it from combat because it is already tapped so tapping it again wont do anything so it will do combat damage

if you destroy an attacking creature, its not there anymore so no combat damage will happen
Back to top
eternal42



Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can tap the creature before combat if you don't want it to attack but if it is already the declare attackers phase, it is too late to stop something from attacking by tapping it.
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tapping a creature does not remove it from combat, regardless of whether that creature is attacking or blocking. Typically an attacking creature is already tapped, but it is possible for it to be untapped while attacking (vigilance, for example).

For a creature to attack, it must be untapped at the time attackers are declared, so if you tap it before that point (and it stays tapped), it won't be able to attack. In this case, the creature is never attacking at all, so doesn't get removed from combat, it was just never part of it.

An attacking or blocking creature which leaves the battlefield does get removed from combat though, this is why it won't deal damage if it's before the combat damage step when it leaves.
Back to top
Ninja87



Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 5:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if you played magic like 15+ years ago, there was a rule where if you tap a blocking creature that wasn't tapped, it does not deal any combat damage.

That's just about the closest thing to what you're saying..
Back to top
GreenBear



Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 899

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think i should just add there is a phase between main phase and declare attackers, which allows you to tap shit and avoid the problem of equips being shuffled around.
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ManfredByron wrote:
I think i should just add there is a phase between main phase and declare attackers, which allows you to tap shit and avoid the problem of equips being shuffled around.


Note it's a "step" not a "phase".

The Combat Phase is divided into five Steps.
Back to top
GreenBear



Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 899

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep I'm not that up on my technical jargon, learnt to play by experience.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy