Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Myr Welder & Isochron Scepter



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:21 am    Post subject: Myr Welder & Isochron Scepter Reply with quote

Myr Welder have the ability of Isochron Scepter, Can i cast a copy of Isochron Scepter on an other artifact card imprinted? how cast a copy of a permanent work?
Back to top
Farseer
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Myr Welder does not combo with Isochron Sceptre. The activated ability will do nothing because it will not see any "exiled cards".

Isochron Sceptre has Linked Abilities.

Quote:
607. Linked Abilities

607.1. An object may have two abilities printed on it such that one of them causes actions to be taken or objects to be affected and the other one directly refers to those actions or objects. If so, these two abilities are linked: the second refers only to actions that were taken or objects that were affected by the first, and not by any other ability.


The activated ability of Isochron Sceptre that Myr Welder gets is:

"{2}, {T}: You may copy the exiled card. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost."

"Exiled card" does not mean any card exiled by Myr Welder. Because it is a Linked Ability, "Exiled card" means only the cards removed with the Imprint ability of Isochron Sceptre. Myr Welder did not get Imprint ability of Isochron Sceptre, it did not exile any cards with this Imprint abiliy, so it cannot copy/cast spells.


Last edited by Farseer on Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
SilverSeraph



Joined: 07 Oct 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That doesn't work. Isochron Scepter has a so-called linked ability (just like the Myr Welder itself).

607.1. An object may have two abilities printed on it such that one of them causes actions to be taken or objects to be affected and the other one directly refers to those actions or objects. If so, these two abilities are linked: the second refers only to actions that were taken or objects that were affected by the first, and not by any other ability.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy