Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Poison Damage question



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
chakal-PT



Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:01 pm    Post subject: Poison Damage question Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a doubt about the creatures with infect.

1- When you are attacked by one of those creatures, it deals to you as many poison-counters has his power, but do you loose life anyway or you just keep the poison-counters?

2- And if the damage is dealt to a planeswalker? I know that it loose that many loyalty counters, but there are no poison counters whatever, right?

thanks for your help!
Back to top
Ossy



Joined: 01 May 2009
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you get poison counters equal to it's power, and you do not lose any life. The poison counters replace any life that would be lost.

As for Planeswalkers, loyalty counters are lost per how much damage the creature is doing. So, a creature with 2 power and infect/whatever, would make a planeswalker lose 2 loyalty counters.
Back to top
Mizukage



Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Infect is a replacement effect. When a creature with infect deals damage to a player, that players gets that much poison counters instead. When a creature with infect deals damage to a creature, put that many -1/-1 counters on that creature instead.
There is no replacement effect for damage dealt to planeswalkers. As such, a creature with infect deals damage normally to them.

Hope this helps.

Mizu
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Infect does not involve any replacement effects. It just changes what damage to a creature or player does. The damage isn't replaced with anything, just the results of that damage are different.

Quote:

119.3. Damage may have one or more of the following results, depending on whether the recipient of the damage is a player or permanent, the characteristics of the damage's source, and the characteristics of the damage's recipient (if it's a permanent).
119.3a. Damage dealt to a player by a source without infect causes that player to lose that much life.
119.3b. Damage dealt to a player by a source with infect causes that player to get that many poison counters.
119.3c. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from that planeswalker.
119.3d. Damage dealt to a creature by a source with wither and/or infect causes that many -1/-1 counters to be put on that creature.
119.3e. Damage dealt to a creature by a source with neither wither nor infect causes that much damage to be marked on that creature.
119.3f. Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source's controller to gain that much life, in addition to the damage's other results.
Back to top
chakal-PT



Joined: 02 Mar 2009
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help guys, Appreciated!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy