Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

AP and Poison Counters



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
mandanglelow



Joined: 15 Nov 2005
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:25 am    Post subject: AP and Poison Counters Reply with quote

I have 10 poison counters and my opponent controls AP. I then swing at him for leathal damage. He blocks with AP. Who wins? and could you give a reason? thanks!
Back to top
gypsy



Joined: 15 Jun 2007
Posts: 1671

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you use real card names
Back to top
Sandro



Joined: 01 Jan 2006
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gypsy wrote:
can you use real card names


I think he means Adrian Peterson.
Back to top
Terri



Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 2:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the ability of the persecuter is a static ability and nothing will trigger when he dies or comes into play so when your opponent goes to 0 life and at the same time the persecuter dies(like it is in combat) then the game ends in a draw.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you are at 'dead' and you deal lethal damage to both the AP and the opponent you actually win. There is one round of State-Based Actions in which three SBA's should happen:

1) You die (this is suppressed by Abyssal Persecutor since he's still in play).
2) He dies.
3) Abyssal Persecutor dies

So you win. Nanoseconds later you would die in the next SBA check, but that never happens since the game has already happened.
Back to top
Magx



Joined: 07 Sep 2004
Posts: 452

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1OR513N wrote:
the ability of the persecuter is a static ability and nothing will trigger when he dies or comes into play so when your opponent goes to 0 life and at the same time the persecuter dies(like it is in combat) then the game ends in a draw.


I would agree with him...
Back to top
Terri



Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@hardtrack: SBA's never happen in any order they will all be checked at the same time thats the reason why both players lose respectively the game is a draw
Back to top
niknight



Joined: 14 Oct 2004
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hardtrack is correct.

Once combat damage is dealt, there are 3 state based actions waiting:

1. active player loses to poison
2. abyssal dies.
3. opponent dies to damage.

All 3 of these actions are checked simultaneously. This means that Persecutor will still prevent the attacking player from losing the game at the same time that it is destroyed AND the defending player loses from damage.

End result: attacking player is alive at 10 poison, defending player dies to damage. State based actions no longer have a need to apply again, since the game has already ended.
Back to top
Kookie_Mnstr



Joined: 09 Feb 2010
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2010 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

why would someone be dumb enough to put Abyssal Persecutor in an infect list??
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy