Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Furnace Celebration



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Tritemio



Joined: 11 Jan 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:13 am    Post subject: Furnace Celebration Reply with quote

I have Furnace Celebration can i use the mana of an eldrazi spwan for pay is ability, triggered by sacrifice of the spwan itself?
Back to top
pascal3000
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 02 Sep 2009
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. The mana ability doesnt use the stack and you will have the mana in your pool before Furnace Celebrations triggered ability resolves.

That works perfectly fine
Back to top
rdeg87



Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Whats important here is that the 2 mana for Furnace Celebration is paid as the trigger resolves and not when it goes on the stack. This knowledge can be helpful in certain situations, for example if you target a 2 toughness creature and your opponent uses a pump spell before the Celebration trigger resolves then you can decline to pay the 2 mana and save it for something else
Back to top
MaksymG



Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

something else that is pretty interesting that uses similar mechanics is that if you have a molten tail masticore and ashnod's altar in play, you can announce playing his 4 damage ability, then since you can pay costs in any order, you can sac him to the altar (mana ability) and remove him from the graveyard to pay for his own ability.
Back to top
gypsy



Joined: 15 Jun 2007
Posts: 1671

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaksymG wrote:
something else that is pretty interesting that uses similar mechanics is that if you have a molten tail masticore and ashnod's altar in play, you can announce playing his 4 damage ability, then since you can pay costs in any order, you can sac him to the altar (mana ability) and remove him from the graveyard to pay for his own ability.


this does not even come close to working
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eh, gypsy, that works just fine (assuming you can get two more mana from somewhere).

You activate his four damage ability, then during the activating you have to play the mana abilities, so then you sac the Molten-Tail Masticore to Ashnod's Altar and then when you actually pay the costs, you have your mana (assuming you got two mana from somewhere else) and you can exile the Masticore.
Back to top
MaksymG



Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 182

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you don't even need mana from elsewhere, the altar is a mana ability so it doesn't use the stack. This comes close to working and then works...
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You do need mana from elsewhere, because the ability costs four mana and you only get two mana out of Ashnod's Altar. So you need some way to get two more mana.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy