Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mimic vat



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
soymilk77



Joined: 30 Jun 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:22 pm    Post subject: Mimic vat Reply with quote

if you and your opponent both have a mimic vat, and a creature goes to the graveyard, whose vat gets imprinted?
Back to top
magicman85



Joined: 22 Aug 2009
Posts: 555

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The active player's mimic vat triggers frist so he has the option to imprint, then the non-active player's triggers and he has the option to imprint. Thus, the non-active player's Mimic Vat will resolve first and his Mimic Vat will be imprinted.
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might not be clear from magicman85's response that the option to imprint the card happens on resolution of the trigger, not when the trigger goes on the stack.
Back to top
kumagmd



Joined: 15 Feb 2009
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what they are both trying to say, is that the answer will depend on whose turn it is. If it's your turn, your trigger goes onto the stack first (cuz you have priority) then your opponent's trigger will go on stack on top of yours - in the end, your opponent's mimic vat will get the imprint. If it's your opponent's turn, the reverse is true.

Of course, if it's your turn, and a creature goes into the graveyard, you can 'counter' his mimic vat trigger with, let's say, a stifle - so YOUR trigger resolves.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kumagmd wrote:
If it's your turn, your trigger goes onto the stack first (cuz you have priority)

All correct, except the bit about priority. That has nothing to do with it. Priority is the opportunity to do something, you don't have priority when triggered abilities go on the stack (that happens before anyone gets priority).
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy