Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Order spells on the stack



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Duodax



Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 390

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can play Bolt, let trigger go on stack, then play another Bolt for the kill.

You can protect your spell with Shusher again.
Back to top
MikeL123



Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You play the Lightning Bolt. It resolves, deals 3 damage. Now opponent has 3 life, and you have 2 life. Lightning Bolt goes to the grave, and Bloodchief Ascension triggers, going on the stack. You then play your second Lightning Bolt, targeting your opponent. It resolves, deals 3 damage, and he is at 0. He is dead, you win.

If you cast Lightning Bolt, then respond with a Lightning Bolt, you will lose: one will resolve, life will be 3 to 2, and while the second bolt is on the stack, Bloodchief will trigger and be placed on the top of the stack. It will then resolve before the second Lightning Bolt.

You don't put damage on the stack; you put the Bloodchief ability on the stack. Just a nit-picky terminology note.

With regards to the Vexing Shusher being Unsummoned... that won't remove it's previous ability activation from the stack. So, you don't even need to play it's ability again; the first activation of it will still resolve before the counterspell.
Back to top
aqualad33
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 272

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

first question mike is correct, that is the proper way to play lightning bolt's in order to kill your opponent who has bloodchief ascension in play. you need to respond to the trigger.

second, there is no need to reuse the ability of the shusher, even if the shusher is unsummoned, the ability will still remain on the stack. The ability is independent of the creature that activated it (unless otherwise stated).
Back to top
Spyx



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 1188

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could use the shusher ability again if you are afraid he has another counter. Opponent could let unsummon resolve and respond again to shusher activation with 2nd counter.
Back to top
MikeL123



Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Spyx wrote:
You could use the shusher ability again if you are afraid he has another counter. Opponent could let unsummon resolve and respond again to shusher activation with 2nd counter.


Why does everyone have to add their .02 when the correct answer has already been given?

aqualad just reiterates what I said, and spyx chimes in with a scenario that is only useful to know in the event that your opponent is completely incompetent.

If the opponent has a second counter in hand, and you respond to an Unsummon by activating the Vexing Shusher again... wouldn't he just use his counter in response to that second activation? How does activating the Shusher again have any impact whatsoever on the course of the game?

Do you guys have like a post quota or something?
Back to top
bosty



Joined: 24 Oct 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In theory, it's always helpful to have a confirmation of sorts. Taking one's opinion as the universal truth isn't wise at all and if the subsequent posts also had a 0.1% amount of new info to add, all the better for the OP.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy