Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sigil Captain and Star/Star Creatures



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Kienan



Joined: 09 Dec 2007
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 10:45 am    Post subject: Re: Sigil Captain and Star/Star Creatures Reply with quote

crystalvala wrote:
...do they automatically enter with (x+1)/(x+1) right when the spell is cast, where x is the number of green permanents/elves he controls before he casts the spell?


I'm not quite following this bit but, to answer your main question, no, they do not come into play as 1/1s. I believe */* creatures have ever changing stats, even while in your library. For a comparison to creatures that change toughness once they hit the field, see Clone. But claiming that */* = 1/1 is ridiculous, since it says that nowhere on the card. I have to go to work now, so I can't look up the specific rules, but they definitely aren't somehow defaulting to 1/1, that's for sure. Basically, */* = */*, not 1/1.
Back to top
RDoom



Joined: 16 Oct 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*/* is a characterstic defining ability of the card.
It functions in all zones and enters the battlefield with a value of * for in this case, the number of elves/green permanents on the battlefield. Sigil captain will only trigger for jagged scar archers if it is the only elf he controls, since it will be a 1/1. Drove of elves will never trigger sigil captain since it will be at least a 2/2 assuming sigil captain is in play when it enters the battlefield.
Back to top
Conkisstador



Joined: 08 Sep 2004
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if he niveous wisps (or another colorchanging ability) his green creatures then drove will be a 1/1 and would trigger. let's be precise now!

CDAs are defined in all zones (goyf is always full goyf size, etc)
Back to top
Alphakiller



Joined: 26 Oct 2008
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the */* being defined in all zones actually allows for some pretty interesting interactions.

say you control a wild pair and 4 artifacts, then you cast a baloth woodcrasher. now you search your deck, and you want to go and look for master of etherium. this is legal, because his power and toughness are both equal to the number of artifacts you control: 4. 4 power + 4 toughness = 8 total, fulfilling wild pair's requirements.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy