Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Trample VS Protection



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Mr_DoomZ



Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the 4 damage would go thru
Back to top
zebo_88



Joined: 12 Sep 2005
Posts: 123
Location: Phyrexia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

obviously no, it doesn't stop all the 5 damage but only one of them.. trample says that if the damage exceeds the total toughness of blocking creatures, the remaining damage will be dealt to defending player or planeswalker, indipendently to the capability of blocking creatures to absorb damage.
Back to top
Thran_Golem



Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zebo_88 wrote:
obviously no, it doesn't stop all the 5 damage but only one of them.. trample says that if the damage exceeds the total toughness of blocking creatures, the remaining damage will be dealt to defending player or planeswalker, indipendently to the capability of blocking creatures to absorb damage.


Its slightly more complicated than that. The trampler has to deal lethal damage, ignoring any prevention effects. So in the 1/1 case, it doesn't make a difference. But if it were blocked by a 2/2 with 1 damage on it (pro green or not), then the trampler could still send 4 damage through.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also note that trample is optional. You don't have to trample if you don't want to. 99,9% of the cases you want to, but just saying.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy