Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Lifegain question



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Delicious



Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 883

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 1:04 pm    Post subject: Lifegain question Reply with quote

Because Lifelink doesn't stack anymore, i was wondering about specific card

Mourning Thrull

"Whenever thrull deals damage, you gain that much life"

If you gave thrull life link, would you be gaining double life?
Back to top
HuDat



Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not think you would, that is the near exact definition of lifelink
Back to top
ik
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 11 Sep 2007
Posts: 335

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mourning Thrull does not have lifelink... So yes you would gain double life.
Back to top
CrushU
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's from a set after Lifelink was described as an ability, yes it would double. If it's from a set before, I would say no, since it's the same as the ability text... But I'm not a judge. Wink
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Lifegain question Reply with quote

Mourning Thrull's ability is rather similar to lifelink, but it is not the same as lifelink. It's a triggered ability, Lifelink is a static ability. If you gave Mourning Thrull Lifelink, then when it dealt damage you would gain that much life as part of the damage dealing effect and it's other ability would trigger, causing you to also gain that much life on resolution of the trigger.

If a creature has multiple instances of Lifelink, it will not do anything additional.

702.13b. Multiple instances of lifelink on the same object are redundant.

Delicious wrote:
Because Lifelink doesn't stack anymore, i was wondering about specific card

Mourning Thrull

"Whenever thrull deals damage, you gain that much life"

If you gave thrull life link, would you be gaining double life?
Back to top
stone_d
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ogle wrote:
yes you would get duble life.

lifelink is different from whenever thrull deals dmg...
when someone attacks you with two 1/1 creatures and you block with the trhull, you're dead, because it's a triggered ability, you gain life after the dmg.
if the thrull would have lifelink, you would survive, because lifelink is static and you get life immediately


Assuming you are at 1 life Wink
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy