Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Combat stack.


Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Hovertical



Joined: 09 Jul 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You play mind control targeting a faerie.
He flashes in Scion of Oona
Mind Control no longer has a legal target and is put into the graveyard.

Basically

Mind Control targets [Faerie]
Scion of Oona is cast
Scion of Oona enters the battlefield
Mind Control is countered from lack of a legal target (fizzles)

if that makes anymore sense...
Back to top
HuDat



Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is a pretty confusing concept to get as it was the most confusing for me when I started playing magic soooo..

Basically whatever is played LAST comes FIRST on the stack.

So you played mind control targeting a faerie and in response he played scion of oona. His scion of oona resolves first because it was played last.
Mind control's target is now illegal so the spell is countered (fizzles).
Back to top
Mr_Eko



Joined: 15 Aug 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matthew Chpt 20 Verse 16 "So the last will be first, and the first will be last." NIV Holy Bible



That says it all. Whatever is cast first happens last, so if Oon is cast 2nd, then all his creatures receive the shroud. Now that they have shroud, pretend like they had it all along.....would you be able to cast a spell on them now?

Can be confusing and God knows I don't understand all the rules, but this one is easy once you know how it is done.
Back to top
IberianWolf



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mr_Eko wrote:
Matthew Chpt 20 Verse 16 "So the last will be first, and the first will be last." NIV Holy Bible



That says it all. Whatever is cast first happens last, so if Oon is cast 2nd, then all his creatures receive the shroud. Now that they have shroud, pretend like they had it all along.....would you be able to cast a spell on them now?

Can be confusing and God knows I don't understand all the rules, but this one is easy once you know how it is done.


Genesis, Chapter 19, Verse 24 "Then the LORD rained upon Sodom and upon Gomorrah brimstone and fire from the LORD out of heaven"

Genesis, Chapter 35, Verse 5 "And they journeyed: and the terror of God was upon the cities that were round about them, and they did not pursue after the sons of Jacob."

which is to say the Scion of Oona dies to removal like Terror or Wrath of God. and it's a faerie which is kind of pansy, so it makes sense to use the sodom quote here, amirite? :p


so basically, if you kill the scion before your spell resolves, the mind control won't be countered, I THINK. AFAIK, it's only countered because of illegal targets on resolution.
Back to top
Delicious



Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 883

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

non targeting removal or damage
Back to top
alvaro202



Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

volcanic fallout
Back to top
IberianWolf



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrath/damnation, for example.
Back to top
six
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1st Corinthians 6:9 "Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived; neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor homosexuals, nor thieves, nor the covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers, will inherit the kingdom of God."

which is to say the Scion's effeminate and fornicating ways will visit a swift demise to the fae force in the form of the ineffable Stag.
Back to top
ACM
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everytime the topmost object on the stack resolves, both players receive priority, and a spell is not countered upon resolution before it actually tries to resolve and finds out its targets are illegal.
This means that you can let the Scion resolve, and with Mind Control still on the stack, play Lightning Bolt targetting the Scion. If it dies from this, the faerie you were originally targetting with Mind Control will no longer have shroud, and Mind Control will resolve as normal.
Back to top
Vedrfolner



Joined: 04 Apr 2006
Posts: 2325

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And for the record, combat has nothing to do with this, and M10 made it so that combat damage does not use the stack.

If you want to make the stack easier to understand, make a physical stack of the spells and abilities you use.

1. Take a sheet and write STACK on it with big letters.
2. When you tap the mana and announce the spell or activated ability, place the actual card on the STACK.
3. Say "your priority - do you have any fast effects to play?"
4. If not, take the card from the STACK and put it into the graveyard if it was an instant or sorcery, put it onto the battlefield if it was an artifact, creature, enchantment or planeswalker, or back to its previous place if it was an activated ability of a permanent.
5. The spell or activated ability has now resolved.
6. If, however, the opponent DO have a fast effect to play, he taps the mana and announce the spell or activated ability and places the actual card on the STACK.
7. Now HE says "your priority - do you have any fast effects to play?".
8. If not, repeat stage 4-5. If you do, repeat stage 6-7.

maybe this helps
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vedrfolner wrote:
If you want to make the stack easier to understand, make a physical stack of the spells and abilities you use.

1. Take a sheet and write STACK on it with big letters.
2. When you tap the mana and announce the spell or activated ability, place the actual card on the STACK.
3. Say "your priority - do you have any fast effects to play?"
4. If not, take the card from the STACK and put it into the graveyard if it was an instant or sorcery, put it onto the battlefield if it was an artifact, creature, enchantment or planeswalker, or back to its previous place if it was an activated ability of a permanent.
5. The spell or activated ability has now resolved.
6. If, however, the opponent DO have a fast effect to play, he taps the mana and announce the spell or activated ability and places the actual card on the STACK.
7. Now HE says "your priority - do you have any fast effects to play?".
8. If not, repeat stage 4-5. If you do, repeat stage 6-7.

Well, I wouldn't use the term 'fast effect' since that doesn't exist any more and has widely differing definitions under the people who do still use it.

Furthermore, this is all assuming you do not want to respond to your own spells and abilities, since you get priority first after you play something.

But besides those two (minor) points, this usually helps a lot.
Back to top
IberianWolf



Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 153

PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vedrfolner wrote:
And for the record, combat has nothing to do with this, and M10 made it so that combat damage does not use the stack.

If you want to make the stack easier to understand, make a physical stack of the spells and abilities you use.

1. Take a sheet and write STACK on it with big letters.
2. When you tap the mana and announce the spell or activated ability, place the actual card on the STACK.
3. Say "your priority - do you have any fast effects to play?"
4. If not, take the card from the STACK and put it into the graveyard if it was an instant or sorcery, put it onto the battlefield if it was an artifact, creature, enchantment or planeswalker, or back to its previous place if it was an activated ability of a permanent.
5. The spell or activated ability has now resolved.
6. If, however, the opponent DO have a fast effect to play, he taps the mana and announce the spell or activated ability and places the actual card on the STACK.
7. Now HE says "your priority - do you have any fast effects to play?".
8. If not, repeat stage 4-5. If you do, repeat stage 6-7.

maybe this helps


fast effects? someone's been playing too much manalink Very Happy
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy