Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Champion ability



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Ashe38



Joined: 24 Jun 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:01 pm    Post subject: Champion ability Reply with quote

Curious how champion works. If my opp cast Mistbind Clique
does he have to choose a target and allow me to respond
with removal, bounce etc.?
Back to top
Delicious



Joined: 08 Jun 2007
Posts: 883

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He doesn't have to choose a target, he just must sacrifice a permanent specified.
Back to top
HuDat



Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can play a spell in response to the mistbind clique.

If he has 1 creature out in play and you remove it in response, mistbind clique goes to grave

If he has 2 creatures out in play and you remove one of them, mistbind clique choose the other creature.

The fact that you're playing the spell in response to clique, means that his ability is not on the stack yet.
Back to top
Eldar



Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 435
Location: Rochester

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The champion ability works in a very unflavorful way. So if we take mistbind clique as an example

1) Mistbind Clique itself goes on the stack, you can feel free to respond to the creature itself.

2) Mistbind Clique's champion a faerie ability goes on the stack allowing the opponent to choose a faerie (any faerie permanent including bitterblossom) that is in play and remove it from the game until Mistbind Clique leaves play. This ability gets around shroud provided by Scion of Oona as well. Also make it noted that if you allow the champion trigger to choose a permanent and a faerie permanent is removed from the game and you decide to remove Mistbind Clique this permanent will not come back as long as the champion trigger has not resolved. Ex. "Champion on stack path Mistbind Clique."

3) Mistbind Clique's tap all lands trigger goes on the stack as well but after the champion trigger itself has resolved. You then have a chance to float mana or respond to this trigger accordingly.

However during this entire process Mistbind Clique does not target anything as I stated above which allows it to bypass shroud. So if you want to get rid of the clique but there are 2 possible choices for it to champion you either have to remove both of them or the clique itself.
Back to top
Egnirys



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you use three compatible Champions and make them infinitely loop coming into play amongs themselves?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Championing is optional. So at one point, you'll have to choose to not champion something and break the loop.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

windslashz wrote:
This is a noob question about mistbind clique. Suppose I play the card during my opponents upkeep, can't they in response tap all there lands and then just keep all the tapped mana in there mana pool, thus negating the effects of the card?

Well, yes, they can, but they have to use the mana in the Upkeep Step. As soon as you go to the next step, the mana disappears.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy