Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Persist questions



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
Egnirys



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:38 pm    Post subject: Persist questions Reply with quote

1). I have a Finks with a +1/+1 counter, it dies. It returns as a 2/1 with a -1/-1 counter, correct?

2). Finks with a -1/-1 counter is given a +1/+1 counter so it's back to 3/2. When it dies, it will come back, correct?

3). Finks with a -1/-1 counter is given Holy Strength so that it's 3/3. If it dies, it does not come back, correct?

4). Finks blocks a Ram-Gang. It does not come back, correct?


Thanks!
Back to top
ichmotekaimu



Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1.yes
2.yes it will come back
3.no it will not come back
4.yes it will not come back
Back to top
Egnirys



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK it seems Persist rulings are still bugging me... situation:

I have a 3/2 Finks (no counters). Enemy uses Path to Exile on it. In response, I use Volcanic Fallout and there are no other responses. Finks die to Fallout and comes back to life giving me +2 life.

Is it then removed from the game due to Path, or not because it's a "different" creature?
Back to top
Andarel



Joined: 06 Mar 2008
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it would work like this.

Fallout is above PtE on the stack, so it resolves first. Fallout resolves, dealing 2 to Finks.

Finks is put into the graveyard. Persist triggers and returns Finks to play with one -1/-1 counter on it (2/1). It is a new instance of Kitchen Finks (just like casting the card again, once a creature leaves play it is considered gone). Kitchen Finks' ability triggers and resolves, gaining you 2 life.

Path to Exile tries to resolve, but its target - Kitchen Finks - is no longer there. It didn't target the newly-revived Kitchen Finks, it targeted the one that died. Illegal target, PtE is countered on resolution.

A little bit confusing, but that's how it works. It's the same as, say, Momentary Blinking the target of PtE, which would also counter PtE.
Back to top
LoneWulf



Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 2:28 am    Post subject: Re: Persist questions Reply with quote

Egnirys wrote:
1). I have a Finks with a +1/+1 counter, it dies. It returns as a 2/1 with a -1/-1 counter, correct?

2). Finks with a -1/-1 counter is given a +1/+1 counter so it's back to 3/2. When it dies, it will come back, correct?

3). Finks with a -1/-1 counter is given Holy Strength so that it's 3/3. If it dies, it does not come back, correct?

4). Finks blocks a Ram-Gang. It does not come back, correct?


Thanks!

1. No. It's a 3/2 with a -1/-1 counter making it 2/1.

2. Yes.

3. Correct.

4. Correct.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy