Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Regarding "Finest Hour"



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
caesarthehun



Joined: 27 Jun 2006
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:03 pm    Post subject: Regarding "Finest Hour" Reply with quote

Finest Hour
2gwu
Enchantment Rare
Exalted
Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, if its the first combat phase of the turn, untap that creature. After this phase, there is an additional combat phase.


Can I use stifle on just the "if its the first combat phase of the turn" part?
Back to top
Kev
Level 1 Judge


Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 100

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finest hour has two seprate abilities. If i understand you correctly, here is the analogy for the second triggered ability (the attacking another time). Im quite sure you know how exalted works!

Finest hour has 2 abilities, the 'if'-clause is the condition for when either of them trigger. read it like this:

When condition 'if its the first combat phase of the turn' is met, then untap that creature and after this phase, there is an additional combat phase.

Triggered abilities are always 1 ability for every time when, whenever or at is in there. Since there is only 1 in the entire text of finest hour you can check that way that there is only 1 trigger. If you stifle it, the entire ability gets stifled, not just a small part of it.
Back to top
Clariax
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finest Hour as two triggered abilities, "Exalted" and the rest of the text on the card is a triggered ability. Since the trigger conditions on both of them are similar, they will often trigger at the same time. Stifle can counter either triggered ability, but a single stifle will not counter both, since they are 2 separate abilities.

The trigger condition on the second ability is "Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, if its the first combat phase of the turn." If this condition isn't met, the ability never triggers at all and won't even be on the stack for stifle to target. Stifle cannot remove part of the trigger condition allowing the ability to trigger, it only targets (and counters) abilities on the stack. It does not target cards and modify their abilities.
Back to top
blitzer2k7



Joined: 12 Jul 2007
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, if you stifled the second triggered ability, wouldnt you effectively be countering the second instance of exalted then as well since there wouldnt be a second attack phase?
Back to top
OldBear



Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 1840

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think what he's actually asking is if he can use stifle to give himself infinite attack phases, which I am no judge on but after reading what everyone else has said would say not you can not, as the there is another attack phase part is stiffled also.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy