Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

reflecting pool


Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
FreeBird



Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reflecting Pool can produce any color mana that any land you control can produce without restrictions

so

yes and yes
Back to top
ChrRome



Joined: 08 Mar 2009
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have a small question regarding reflecting pool. With simply an ancient ziggurat and reflecting pool, can I produce mana to play a one mana cost non-creature spell (i.e. path to exile), thanks
Back to top
Alvaro21k



Joined: 28 Dec 2004
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reflecting Pool will produce mana of any color, and you can use that mana for whatever you want.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reflecting Pool can produce any type of mana that a land you control can produce, ignoring any and all costs.

The costs of an activated ability are in front of the colon ( : ). So you can ignore everything before the colon. You just look at the text after the colon, and all colours that land could produce just looking at that part of the ability, Reflecting Pool can produce.

And yes, any limitations on how to spend the mana are also ignored by Reflecting Pool, that's why it's so good with Ancient Ziggurat or Pillar of the Paruns, just to name a few.
Back to top
Wiley



Joined: 28 Jul 2006
Posts: 161

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Better question, how does reflecting pool interact with snow lands

Surprised
Back to top
zturchan



Joined: 02 Feb 2007
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because snow is not a colour of mana, a reflecting pool cannot produce snow mana. This is because it lacks the snow supertype that is required by the rules to generate snow mana.
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, stevefrommi, that is all correct. And also explains why the card is so expensive.

Snow mana is mana produced by a snow permanent. Since Reflecting Pool is not snow, it can not produce snow mana.
Back to top
alvaro202



Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blitz00 wrote:
wait if you have a vivid land with no counters you cant produce any color mana because you can no longer produce the mana if you had to.. right?


I don't understand the rules but I know you can still produce any color mana. Vivid lands have the ability to produce any color land, even with no counters on it. You can no longer use the vivid to produce any color, because you can not remove any more counters from the vivid land, but reflecting pool does not check to see if the vivid land has any counters, it just checks what color mana the land is capable of producing at any given time.

If a land is capable of producing any color, reflecting pool can make that color. If your land is limited to producing only colors your opponent controls (like exotic orchard) your reflecting pool will only be able to make the colors exotic orchard may produce.
Back to top
KevinJonas



Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what abot if u puts a lifes on ur lands... spriti link etc.... does caves produce any colors then!?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What? I have no idea what Spirit Link has to do with this.

Like I said before: ignore everything before the colon. It doesn't matter what an ability costs, and whether or not you can pay that.

All you have to look at is what the land could produce if the ability resolved. Caves of Koilos can make colourless, black and white mana, therefor, so can Reflecting Pool.

It doesn't matter if the Caves are tapped, how much life you have left, etc. etc.
Back to top
Kaesh



Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 376

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shadowmoor FAQ wrote:
Reflecting Pool
Land
{T}: Add to your mana pool one mana of any type that a land you control could produce.

* The types of mana are white, blue, black, red, green, and colorless.

* Reflecting Pool checks the effects of all mana-producing abilities of lands you control, but it doesn't check their costs. For example, Vivid Crag says "{T}, Remove a charge counter from Vivid Crag: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool." If you control Vivid Crag and Reflecting Pool, you can tap Reflecting Pool for any color of mana. It doesn't matter whether Vivid Crag has a charge counter on it, and it doesn't matter whether it's untapped.

* Reflecting Pool doesn't care about any restrictions or riders your lands put on the mana they produce, such as Pillar of the Paruns and Hall of the Bandit Lord do. It just cares about types of mana.

* Multiple Reflecting Pools won't help each other produce mana. If you control a Reflecting Pool, and all other lands you control either lack mana abilities or are other Reflecting Pools, you may still play Reflecting Pool's ability -- it just won't produce any mana.

The could produce part refers to what a land would produce when you would play a mana ability right now, not any other potential colors. River of Tears + Reflecting Pool functions as a second River of Tears, not as a UB dual.
Back to top
KevinJonas



Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hardtrack wrote:

It doesn't matter if the Caves are tapped, how much life you have left, etc. etc.

dis thread is abouut reflectin p00l, n0t cavez
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy