Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

naya battlemage questions



 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
FiReBLT



Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only time he can stop your attack is at the beginning of combat step, at which time he can tap creatures before you attack at all.

Once you enter your declare attackers step, you declare all attackers and tap them; past this point, tapping your creatures is useless. Although he can use a tap ability on a creature that is tapped it won't do anything.

So, he can tap a guy, but only at the beginning of combat. After that, you can choose any untapped guys to attack. It might be a smaller guy or a less favourable attack, but meh.

He can't stop the attack once it has happened by tapping the creature.

Hope that answers your question.
Back to top
SilverMcHowl



Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just let him know you won those Razz
Back to top
Maksym



Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rationale is not whether or not you can play things at that time but rather that tapping is a "cost" of sorts to declare attackers. (note that although vigilance removes this cost, the creature must still be untapped in order to be able to be declared as an attacker). Now when you enter combat step, your opponent may choose to tap a certain creature or creatures however if at the start of the declare attackers step you have at least one untapped creature remaining you may then declare that creature as an attacker. Hope that helps.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy