Magic-League.com Forum Index Magic-League.com
Forums of Magic-League: Free Online tcg playing; casual or tournament play.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Trinisphere's effect on a few cards.


Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings
Author Message
brosephskeet



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:41 pm    Post subject: Trinisphere's effect on a few cards. Reply with quote

Do they need to pay three to play a card off the isochron scepter and do they need to pay three to play cards RFG'd with Mind's Desire?
Back to top
CHRONICBL



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i know for mind's desire you do have to make it 3 so like rite of flame would cost 2R. not sure about the scepter though
Back to top
Chatzuk



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 4:05 pm    Post subject: trinisphere Reply with quote

Rite of flame costs 3, correct.
Spells revealed from mind's desire also cost 3.
Scepter you have to pay 2 to activate, and then 3 to play the spell.

Basically trinisphere asks how much you are paying for a spell, if less than 3 for whatever reason, then it costs 3.
Back to top
Eldariel
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trinisphere is always applied last, and everything that is played (in addition to actual spells, cards that say "play" such as Isochron Scepter or Windbrisk Heights or Mind's Desire or some such) costs 3 or more.

The word "play" is really the magic word you should be looking for when figuring out Trinisphere; if a spell is played and you haven't paid 3 for the actual process of playing it yet, you'll pay at least 3.
Back to top
Egnirys



Joined: 31 Mar 2005
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so 2W to activate windbrisk heights?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, W to activate Heights. Then when the ability resolves and you actually play the card you have to pay 3 to succesfully play it (because you're playing it without paying anything).
Back to top
Spyx



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 1188

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

W to activate it and then 3 to play the spell.
Back to top
Acid_Christ



Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What about if you have something like a Stormscape Familiar in play with Trinisphere, how much would a Momentary Blink cost?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trinisphere always applies last, after any cost reducers or increasers. It would cost 2W (or 2U to flashback).
Back to top
brosephskeet



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The fact that it is always applied last helps a lot, thanks. Everything makes much more sense when you know that.
Back to top
P1n



Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:12 pm    Post subject: re Reply with quote

If you have a spell that costs 1U, but you got both a trinisphere and a sphere of resistance, you have to pay 2U or 3U for that spell?
Back to top
Hardtrack



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 651

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, might as well just copy / paste:

Trinisphere always applies last, after any cost reducers or increasers.

So first the Sphere ups the spell to 2U and then Trinisphere sees it's all good and stops caring.
Back to top
Middleman



Joined: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If my opponent has a Trinisphere and a Thorn of Amethyst in play and I have an Emerald Medallion and a Jade Leech, how much will it cost me to play Pygmy Troll?
Back to top
Eldariel
Level 3 Judge


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Surely you can work that one out for yourself.

EDIT: If not, it's really simple: 1G (Troll) - 1 (Medallion) + G (Jade Leech). Since GG is less than 3, Trinisphere increases it to 1GG instead. Thorn is trivial since Pygmy is a creature. If it were a Sphere of Resistance though, that wouldn't change the aftermath at all.
Back to top
Middleman



Joined: 20 Jan 2005
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So how much for the troll?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Magic-League.com Forum Index -> Magic Rulings All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

All content on this page may not be reproduced without consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy