Judge Test Questions Spring 2015

Written by derflippi on June 29, 2015



Alex controls an attacking Polis Crusher Norman blocks it with his Soldier of the Pantheon. Alex assigns as much damage to Norman as he can. How much is that?

Polis Crusher {2RG} |Creature -- Cyclops| 4/4 Trample, protection from enchantments / 4RG: Monstrosity 3. / Whenever Polis Crusher deals combat damage to a player, if Polis Crusher is monstrous, destroy target enchantment that player controls.

Soldier of the Pantheon {W} |Creature -- Human Soldier| 2/1 Protection from multicolored / Whenever an opponent casts a multicolored spell, you gain 1 life.

Answer:
Alex has to assign lethal damage to the blocking creature. Lethal damage to a creature with no damage already marked on it is simply its toughness. That means, Polis Crusher assigns at least 1 damage to Soldier of the Pantheon and any remaining 3 damage to Norman.



Alex casts Crippling Chill targeting Normans Embodiment of Spring. As response, Norman uses the activated ability of Embodiment of Spring to find a land. As Crippling Chill is about to resolve, what happens? Will Alex draw a card ?

Crippling Chill {2U} |Instant| Tap target creature. It doesn't untap during its controller's next untap step. / Draw a card.

Embodiment of Spring {U} |Creature -- Elemental| 0/3 1G, T, Sacrifice Embodiment of Spring: Search your library for a basic land card, put it onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle your library.


Answer:
Crippling Chill will be countered upon resolution due to lack of target, Alex does not draw a card.



Ahmed casts a Clever Impersonator. He copies his own Elspeth, Sun's Champion. What can he do with the Impersonator?

Clever Impersonator {2UU} |Creature -- Shapeshifter| 0/0 You may have Clever Impersonator enter the battlefield as a copy of any nonland permanent on the battlefield.

Elspeth, Sun's Champion {4WW} |Planeswalker -- Elspeth| 4 loyalty. +1: Put three 1/1 white Soldier creature tokens onto the battlefield. / -3: Destroy all creatures with power 4 or greater. / -7: You get an emblem with "Creatures you control get +2/+2 and have flying."


Answer:
Clever Impersonater copies all copyable values of Elspeth. This makes it enter with loyalty, but he'll also needs to sacrifice on of his Elspeths. After sacrificing an Elspeth, he can use Clever Elspeth's abilities just like those of a normal Elspeth.



The combat phase has several steps. What typically happens in the 'Beginning of Combat' step? Please give an example.

Answer:
Examples: At the beginning of Combat, - triggers like Goblin Rabblemaster, activate manlands to attack, cast Cryptic Command/Blinding Mage to tap possible attackers..



Andre controls an attacking Alesha's Vanguard. It is blocked by Noels Smoke Teller. In declare blocker step, Andre casts Temur Battle Rage targetting his Alesha's Vanguard.
Where is damage dealt, and how much in this combat?

Alesha's Vanguard {3B} |Creature -- Orc Warrior| 3/3 Dash 2B

Smoke Teller {1G} |Creature -- Human Shaman| 2/2 1U: Look at target face-down creature.

Temur Battle Rage {1R} |Instant| Target creature gains double strike until end of turn. / Ferocious -- That creature also gains trample until end of turn if you control a creature with power 4 or greater.


Answer:
Three damage is dealt to Smoke Teller in the first strike damage step, no damage is dealt in the normal combat damage step. If blocked, creatures don't deal combat damage to the defending player unless the attacking creature has Trample.



Andre casts Hunt the Weak, targetting his own Typhoid Rats and his opponent's Wolly Loxodon. What creatures will die?

Hunt the Weak {3G} |Sorcery| Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature you control. Then that creature fights target creature you don't control.

Typhoid Rats {B} |Creature -- Rat| 1/1 Deathtouch

Woolly Loxodon {5GG} |Creature -- Elephant Warrior| 6/7 Morph 5G


Answer:
Loxodon dies during resolution of Hunt the Weak, Typhoid Rats will die as state-based actions are checked after Hunt the Weak resolved. Deathtouch applies to all damage dealt, not only combat damage.



John controls an untapped Springleaf Drum and just resolved Monastery Swiftspear and a Mardu Hateblade. Which of these creatures can he use with Springlead Drum to add one mana to his mana pool?

Springleaf Drum {1} |Artifact| T, Tap an untapped creature you control: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.

Monastery Swiftspear {R} |Creature -- Human Monk| 1/2 Haste / Prowess

Answer:
He can tap any of Swiftspear or Hateblade for Drum. Only activated abilities with the tap-symbol require Haste to be able to be used the turn the card came to that players' control.



Andre controls a Sultai Emissary and Nadine controls a Noxious Dragon as Andre resolves an End Hostilities. Can Nadine destroy the creature Andre will manifest with the triggered ability of Noxious Dragon?


Sultai Emissary {1B} |Creature -- Zombie Warrior| 1/1 When Sultai Emissary dies, manifest the top card of your library.

Noxious Dragon {4BB} |Creature -- Dragon| 4/4 Flying / When Noxious Dragon dies, you may destroy target creature with converted mana cost 3 or less.

End Hostilities {3WW} |Sorcery| Destroy all creatures and all permanents attached to creatures.

Answer:
No she cant. Targets are determined as abilities go on the stack; at that point, the 2/2 manifest is not on the battlefield yet. Answers that involve APNAP for _resolution_ of abilities in their reasoning are marked wrong.



Mike controls a Tarmogoyf with only a land and a sorcery in his graveyard. He casts Swords to Plowshares targetting the Tarmogoyf. how much life will he gain?

Tarmogoyf {1G} |Creature -- Lhurgoyf| */1+* Tarmogoyf's power is equal to the number of card types among cards in all graveyards and its toughness is equal to that number plus 1.

Swords to Plowshares {W} |Instant| Exile target creature. Its controller gains life equal to its power.


Answer:
He gains 2 life, because that's Tarmogoyfs power during the resolution of Swords to Plowshares.
Note this is different to Lightning Bolt.



Norman controls a 1/1 Spirit token and a Chandra, Pyromaster with 1 loyalty. Can Adele cast an Arc Lightning targetting the token, Chandra and Norman to deal 1 damage to each targets?

Spirit | Creature Token - Spirit | Flying | 1/1

Chandra, Pyromaster {2RR} |Planeswalker -- Chandra| 4 loyalty. +1: Chandra, Pyromaster deals 1 damage to target player and 1 damage to up to one target creature that player controls. That creature can't block this turn. / 0: Exile the top card of your library. You may play it this turn. / -7: Exile the top ten cards of your library. Choose an instant or sorcery card exiled this way and copy it three times. You may cast the copies without paying their mana costs.

Arc Lightning {2R} |Sorcery| Arc Lightning deals 3 damage divided as you choose among one, two, or three target creatures and/or players.


Answer:
No she cant. Arc Lightning can target only creatures and players. She could deal 2 to Chandra or 2 to the player, but not split.



Mike controls a Grizzly Bear enchanted with Holy Strength and Daybreak Coronet. He casts Erase, exiling Holy Strength. What happens with the Daybreak Coronet?

Grizzly Bears {1G} |Creature -- Bear| 2/2

Holy Strength {W} |Enchantment -- Aura| Enchant creature / Enchanted creature gets +1/+2.

Daybreak Coronet {WW} |Enchantment -- Aura| Enchant creature with another Aura attached to it / Enchanted creature gets +3/+3 and has first strike, vigilance, and lifelink.


Answer:

Daybreak Coronet falls off as it no longer enchants a legal object.



Ahmed controls two face-down morph creatures and one manifested creature. He casts Bile Blight targetting one of the morph creatures. What creatures will be affected ?

Bile Blight {BB} |Instant| Target creature and all other creatures with the same name as that creature get -3/-3 until end of turn


Answer:
Only the target. Since face-down creatures dont have a name, they don't share one.



Arnold casts Act of Treason targetting Nike's Meandering Towershell and attacks with it. The ability triggers.
When will it return to the battlefield, if ever, and under whose control?


Act of Treason {2R} |Sorcery| Gain control of target creature until end of turn. Untap that creature. It gains haste until end of turn.

Meandering Towershell {3GG} |Creature -- Turtle| 5/9 Islandwalk / Whenever Meandering Towershell attacks, exile it. Return it to the battlefield under your control tapped and attacking at the beginning of the declare attackers step on your next turn.

Answer:
It will return in Arnolds next declare attacker step, under Arnolds control, attacking Nike.

Back to Magic: the Gathering Articles

Comments:
by Hashirama on 2015-06-29 15:52 CET

John controls an untapped Springleaf Drum and just resolved Monastery Swiftspear and a Mardu Hateblade. Which of these creatures can he use with Springlead Drum to add one mana to his mana pool?

Springleaf Drum {1} |Artifact| T, Tap an untapped creature you control: Add one mana of any color to your mana pool.

Monastery Swiftspear {R} |Creature -- Human Monk| 1/2 Haste / Prowess

Answer:
He can tap any of Swiftspear or Hateblade for Drum. Only activated abilities with the tap-symbol require Haste to be able to be used the turn the card came to that players' control.

There is a tap symbol on springleaf drum, just not the creature, so the hateblade is able to tap for mana because you are tapping it with the artifact.


by Jinete_dV on 2015-06-29 21:49 CET

"sacrifice on of his Elspeths" -> "sacrifice one of his Elspeths"

I'm a little surprised to see nothing mentioning how redirecting damage to walkers works with the arc lightning question.


All content on this page may not be reproduced without written consent of Magic-League Directors.
Magic the Gathering is TM and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved.


Contact Us | Privacy Policy
Join Swagbucks!